Our Mission

The Sons of the Revolution was founded in 1876 by members of the Society of the Cincinnati wishing to broaden participation in preserving the American Heritage on the eve of this country’s centennial. Its mission is to promote knowledge and appreciation of the achievement of American independence and to foster fellowship among its members. As a 501(c)3 nonprofit educational organization devoted to the principles and ideals of its founders, the modern Society maintains its headquarters, in Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia with 30 societies in the United States and Europe.

The Rhode Island Society was formed in Newport on August 29, 1896. The Rhode Island Society was founded on September 26, 1896, by the following Newport gentlemen:

  • W. Walter Sherman
  • John P. Sanborn
  • E.W. Higher
  • Frederick Tompkins
  • Horatio R. Storer
  • Frederick P. Garrettson
  • Risbrough Hammett Tilley
  • David Stevens
  • William Green Ward, Jr.
  • Samuel P. Colt
  • Henry L. Greene
  • Charles Howland Russell
  • O.H.P. Belmont
  • Joshua Wilbour
  • William L. Tilley
  • and Perry Tiffany